BPA to Compete at State Leadership Conference in Indy

Record-breaking 34 CPHS Business Professional of America students qualified to compete at state


Students from Crown Point High School’s BPA chapter are preparing to compete this weekend at the SLC in Indianapolis, March 12, through 14.  The conference will bring together an estimated 1, 213 delegates from across the state to vie for top honors in business, finance, technology, marketing, and health administration skills competitions. Students will also attend leadership seminars, and receive awards for community service activities and competitive events.  State officer leader elections will take place for the 2023-2024 school year as well. This year, senior Adam Fucela will be passing the torch as Region 1 President to Jerzy Mayer. Emma Vandenburgh is running for the Vice President of Administration spot.

There are 34 students from Crown Point High School’s BPA chapter attending the conference and competing in various events including fundamental, advanced, and payroll accounting; financial analyst team, personal financial management, fundamental and advanced word processing, advanced office systems & procedures, business law & ethics, computer network technology, C++ and Python programming, graphic design promotion, global marketing team, entrepreneurship, small business management team, individual and team presentations, interview skills, extemporaneous and prepared speech, human resource management, ethics & professionalism, parliamentary procedure team, health administrative procedures, and health leadership special topics. Students will also receive awards for their work in building torch resumes.

“This is our largest group qualifying for state, and we are so excited. We are so proud of their tenacity and spirit. We believe they are truly preparing themselves to be business professionals of the future,” said Mary Bachnak and Scott MacFarland, Co-Advisors and teachers.  BPA students hope to build a strong team of enthusiastic business leaders and continue the legacy of success of the BPA group at CPHS.  Students competing at SLC this year include: Brooklyn Adams, Lydia Aldubbein, Jasmine Appiah, Ari Bairaktaris, Jake Baumann, Jacob Boron, Carmen Chaidez, Shane Dorsey, Alex Emmanoilidis, Mason Erbini, Savannah Fields, Adam Fucela, Aidan Jaworski, Dana Jorgenson, Colleen Kozlowski, Xavier Maa, Audrey Macek, Eliana Malkinos, Panagiotis Mattingly, Jerzy Mayer, Calum McCaskill, Xzavier Menchaca, Ariel Moore, Marko Nastovich, Jacob Neff, Parker Niksch, Harris Proudman, Tristin Smith, Trent Tillich, Emma Vandenburgh, Jordan Wake, Miles Warren, and Lily Wilson.

Contact: Mary Bachnak

Email: [email protected]